Experiences

The Old Cable Station Museum

The Cable Station officially opened on the 1st April 1936, it was the Victorian end of the first submarine telephone cable linking Tasmania via King Island to the mainland.

About

The cable provided 6 telephone channels, 7 telegraph channels and a broadcasting channel for the ABC radio between Melbourne and Hobart. The cable operated until 1968, when a failure occurred in the section between king Island and Stanley, in Northern Tasmania. The link was then provided by radio. 

Today the Museum is housed in the buildings from which the undersea cable connected Tasmania to the mainland and is operated by the Apollo Bay Historical Society. The museum displays relics from some of the shipwrecks and ship that were essentially the primary means of access before the Great Ocean Road and of the life of what was an extremely isolated community. 

Accommodation Nearby

Deck 2 Sea

Apollo Bay

The Shack

Apollo Bay

Sandcastle

Apollo Bay

The Gallery – Bass Dreaming

Apollo Bay

Things To Do Nearby

Places To Eat & Drink

Great Ocean Road Regional Tourism acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the Great Ocean Road region the Wadawurrung, Eastern Maar & Gunditjmara. We pay our respects to their Elders, past, present and emerging. We recognise and respect their unique cultural heritage and the connection to their traditional lands. We commit to building genuine and lasting partnerships that recognise, embrace and support the spirit of reconciliation, working towards self-determination, equity of outcomes and an equal voice for Australia’s first people.